Skip to Main Content


Celebrating Art, Artists, and the Greater Art World

Saturday, September 9, 2023

6 pm - 9:30 pm EDT

Partygoers on the dance floor at the 2021 AK Gala. Photo by Joe Cascio.

Presented by: 

Logo stating "Curbell" in blue font
6 pm - pARTy, Buffalo AKG Art Museum

9:30 pm - AfterpARTy (secret location to be revealed that evening!)

Please join the Buffalo AKG Art Museum for pARTy, a festive soirée for the greater art world and a capstone to the museum’s inaugural season. Chaired by Buffalo’s own Amy Cappellazzo, pARTy welcomes guests from around the globe to Buffalo for a festive—but not fancy—event.

Revel in masterworks adorning the fresh walls of the new Buffalo AKG galleries and watch the campus come to life through pop-up performances and music. Hop a bus to a secret afterparty; the location will be revealed that evening.

Three artists who have made a significant impact on Buffalo’s built landscape through their architectural commissions in the Buffalo AKG will be honored at the event: Miriam Bäckström, Firelei Báez, and Olafur Eliasson, as well as the artists on view in the inaugural reinstallation of the collection. The weekend will also commemorate the launch of the Buffalo AKG National Council, a new group of museum supporters and ambassadors who live beyond Western New York.

We hope you consider supporting this weekend aimed at showcasing the bold, cutting-edge spirit of the Buffalo AKG’s curatorial program and the warm and welcoming charm of our city and community. Every dollar raised from this special event will benefit the Buffalo AKG Art Museum as it enters a new era of artistic and cultural excellence.

- Valet parking will be available
- Festive (but not fancy) attire

For questions regarding tickets or sponsorships, please contact Tori Claflin, Events Coordinator, at or 585.507.9456 (mobile) or Katie Homer, Manager of Philanthropy, at or 585.746.6937 (mobile). Underwriting opportunities are available.

Amy Cappellazzo

Nando Alvarez-Perez and Emily Ebba Reynolds
Jonathan J. Amoia
Richard Armstrong
Ryan H. Arthurs
Doug and Abby Bennett
Rick Cappellazzo
Cathleen Chaffee
Michael Darling
Louis Grachos
Andrew and Christine Hall
Francisco Hernandez-Ilizaliturri
Genevieve and Benjamin Kicinski
David H. Kimelberg
Norty and Vicki Knox
Jody B. Lippes
Christine and Richard Mack
Julia Mechtler
François Rochon and Isabelle Renaud
Deborah Ronnen
Elisabeth Samuels
Rick Smith
Patti and Thurman Thomas
Emily Tucker
Drew Watson
Ian J. Wilson